What is the General Assembly?

Established in 1945 under the Charter of the United Nations, the General Assembly occupies a central position as the chief deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the United Nations. Comprising all 193 Members of the United Nations, it provides a unique forum for multilateral discussion of the full spectrum of international issues covered by the Charter. It also plays a significant role in the process of standard-setting and the codification of international law.

According to the Charter of the United Nations, the General Assembly may:

鈥 Consider and approve the United Nations budget and establish the financial assessments of Member States;
鈥 Elect the non-permanent members of the Security Council and the members of other United Nations councils and organs and, on the recommendation of the Security Council, appoint the Secretary-General;
鈥 Consider and make recommendations on the general principles of cooperation for maintaining international peace and security, including disarmament;
鈥 Discuss any question relating to international peace and security and, except where a dispute or situation is currently being discussed by the Security Council, make recommendations on it;
鈥 Discuss, with the same exception, and make recommendations on any questions within the scope of the Charter or affecting the powers and functions of any organ of the United Nations;
鈥 Initiate studies and make recommendations to promote international political cooperation, the development and codification of international law, the realization of human rights and fundamental freedoms, and international collaboration in the economic, social, humanitarian, cultural, educational and health fields;
鈥 Make recommendations for the peaceful settlement of any situation that might impair friendly relations among countries;
鈥 Consider reports from the Security Council and other United Nations organs.

Main Committees

1. First Committee (Disarmament & International Security)
2. Second Committee (Economic & Financial)
3. Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian & Cultural)
4. Fourth Committee (Special Political & Decolonization)
5. Fifth Committee (Administrative & Budgetary)
6. Sixth Committee (Legal)