What is ECOSOC?

The Economic and Social Council is at the heart of the United Nations system to advance the three dimensions of sustainable development – economic, social and environmental. It is the central platform for fostering debate and innovative thinking, forging consensus on ways forward, and coordinating efforts to achieve internationally agreed goals. It is also responsible for the follow-up to major UN conferences and summits.
The UN Charter established ECOSOC in 1945 as one of the six main organs of the United Nations.

How is the work of the Economic and Social Council organized?

The Council holds several short sessions and many preparatory meetings, round tables and panel discussions with the members of civil society throughout the year, to deal with the organization of its work. It holds a High-level, Coordination, Operational Activities, Humanitarian Affairs Segments and Coordination Management Meetings. At the High-level Segment, national cabinet ministers and chiefs of international agencies and other high officials discuss major economic, social and environmental policy issues. A Ministerial declaration is generally adopted on the theme of the High-level Segment, which provides policy guidance and recommendations for action. The year-round work of the Council is carried out in its subsidiary and related bodies.


Countries Current term expires on 31 December
Afghanistan 2018
Algeria 2018
Andorra 2019
Azerbaijan 2019
Belarus 2020
Belgium(Vice-President) 2018
Benin 2019
Cameroon 2019
Canada 2018
Chad 2019
Chile 2018
China 2019
Colombia 2019
Czech Republic (President) 2018
Denmark 2019
Ecuador 2020
El Salvador 2020
France 2020
Germany 2020
Ghana 2020
Guyana 2018
India 2020
Iraq 2018
Ireland 2020
Italy 2018
Japan 2020
Lebanon 2018
Malawi 2020
Mexico 2020
Morocco 2020
Nigeria 2018
Norway 2019
Peru 2018
Philippines 2020
Republic of Korea 2019
Republic of Moldova 2018
Romania 2019
Russian Federation 2019
Rwanda 2018
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (Vice-President) 2019
Somalia 2018
South Africa (Vice-President) 2018
Spain 2020
Sudan 2020
Swaziland 2019
Tajikistan (Vice-President) 2019
Togo 2020
Turkey 2020
United Arab Emirates 2019
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2019
United States of America 2018
Uruguay 2020
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) 2019
Viet Nam 2018